Women's Suffrage Centennial Commission Honors 100 Years of Women's Right to Vote

WASHINGTON, DC - On May 21, The Women's Suffrage Centennial Commission, the official Commission tasked with commemorating and coordinating the nation's events surrounding the 100th anniversary of women's suffrage will begin its year-long campaign when the House passes H.Res. 354. During the vote, members of Congress will wear yellow roses on their lapels like those worn by members of the 1920 Tennessee Legislature who supported women's suffrage a century ago, completing the ratification process.

The resolution reaffirms the 19th Amendment and honors those who worked for women's right to vote. The bipartisan resolution was sponsored by Rep. Brenda Lawrence (D-Mich.) and Rep. Debbie Lesko (R-Ariz.) and championed by members of the House Bipartisan Women's Caucus.

Commissioners are available for interviews to discuss:

  • The importance of the Suffrage Centennial and its historical significance

  • The Commission's mission and goals

  • Upcoming events and activities sponsored by the Commission

  • Why members of Congress are wearing yellow roses and the significance of the yellow rose in the women's vote movement

Chairwoman - Kay Coles James (President, The Heritage Foundation)

Kay Coles James is President of The Heritage Foundation where she has served on the board of trustees for 13 years. Mrs. James' commitment to the principles of free enterprise and individual freedom are evidenced in her career of public service that spans three decades. She has served as director of the Office of Personnel Management, Virginia Secretary of Health and Human Services and Dean of the Robertson School of Government at Regent University.

Vice Chairwoman - Former Senator Barbara Mikulski

Former Senator Barbara Mikulski's political career spans over four decades. She proudly served the people of Maryland in the U.S. Congress for forty years -- becoming the longest-serving woman in U.S. Congressional history in the process. Her first elected office was to the City Council of Baltimore in 1971. She then served in the U.S. House of Representatives for a decade prior to her election to the U.S. Senate in 1986, when she became the first Democratic woman elected to the U.S. Senate in her own right.

Executive Director - Rebecca Kleefisch

Rebecca Kleefisch served two terms as the 44th Lieutenant Governor of Wisconsin, the first state to ratify the 19th Amendment. She is the former Chairman of the Aerospace States Association and a founding Co-Chair of Right Women Right Now, an organization encouraging women to run for office. Rebecca is a former marketing company owner and a recovering journalist.

For a complete list of commissioners visit WomensVote100.org.


The Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission was established by Congress to commemorate and coordinate the nationwide celebration of the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment and to educate the American people about the efforts and undertakings of the women’s suffrage movement in the United States.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2020 by BPA

  • Instagram
  • White Vimeo Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon